foto di Alessandro


Professore Ordinario
Orario di ricevimento:

Wednesday, 11 AM to 12 AM, Via Valleggio 11, Anello Piano -1, Room in front of the Cartography Lab.

031 238 6650,031 238 6651

Born in Roma, Italy, on February 25th, 1961; married and father of 3 “kids”. Office Address: Università degli Studi dell’Insubria, Dipartimento di Scienza e Alta Tecnologia, Via Valleggio, 11, 22100, Como, Italy. Direct Calls: ++39-0312386650; email: alessandro.michetti@uninsubria.it


2016-present, INTERREG V-A 2014 – 2020 Cooperation Programme, Delegate of the Lombardia Rector Conference in the Supervisory Committee  

November 2014 to present, Sinop Nuclear Power Plant Feasibility Study, TRACTEBEL Engineering S.A., SSHAC level 3, Evaluator Expert

2012-present, Member of the Academic Senate, Università degli Studi dell’Insubria

2011-present, President, INQUA Commission on Terrestrial Processes, Deposits and History – TERPRO http://www.inqua.org/aboutCommissions.html

June 2012, Evaluation of the surface faulting hazards for the Bagnolo Mella Gas Storage Project, Comune di Capriano del Colle.

2011-2012, Vice President, Environmental Science Degree Committee, Università dell’Insubria;

2008 - 2011, Vice Director, Department of Chemical and Environmental Sciences, Università dell'Insubria;

July 2009, Geological, geotechnical and surface faulting hazards for the Rivara Gas Storage Project, Erg Rivara Storage S.r.l.

2000 – 2017, Tutor of 12 PhD Projects in Environmental Sciences;

2007-2011: INQUA Focus Group on Paleoseismology and Active Tectonics, Chairman;

October 1st, 2000 - present: Associate Professor of Geology, Dipartimento di Scienze Chimiche e Ambientali (Chemistry and Environmental Sciences, now Dipartimento di Scienza e Alta Tecnologia – Dept. of Science and High Technology), University of Insubria at Como;

June 2003 to present, IAEA missions as Expert in Geology, Paleoseismology and Seismotectonics, and Hydrogeology, for NPP siting at Cernavoda (Romania), El Dabaa (Egypt), Visaginas (Lithuania), Sinop and Akkuyu (Turkey), Abuja (Nigeria), Minsk (Belarus), Kashiwazaki-Kariwa (Japan), Montevideo (Uruguay), Hanoi (Vietnam), Ust-Kamenogorsk (Kazakhstan) , Jakarta (Indonesia).

1992 NATO Fellowship in Active Tectonics and Paleoseismology, Center for Neotectonic Studies, University of Nevada, Reno, USA;

1989 to 1999 Research Geologist in Natural Hazard Assessment and Paleoseismology, CNR - GNDT (National Group for Protection Against Earthquakes) at ANPA (National Agency for Environmental Protection, Roma);

1986 Doctor in Geology, University "La Sapienza" of Roma, Department of Earth Sciences.

Professor in Geology at University of Insubria, Dept. of Science and High Technology, since the year 2000. Author of more than 90 papers, with 2618 citations (source: Google Scholar 21.11.2017; h index Scopus = 23, Google Scholar = 28), mostly published on international ISI journals, such as Scientific Reports, Earth Plan. Sci. Lett., JGR Solid Earth, Tectonophysics, J. of Struct. Geol., BSSA, Journal of Geodynamics, Natural Hazards, Sedimentary Geology. Most of his  research is focused on the reconstruction of the recent landscape evolution in order to define geological criteria for assessing natural hazards, in particular related to strong earthquakes. This includes analysis of airphoto coverages, other remote sensing and topographic imagery, field mapping of recent landforms and deposits, geomorphic reconstruction of slip rates and paleoearthquake histories of capable faults, also through detailed studies of trench exposures showing evidence for Holocene earthquake surface faulting. Among other international scientific activities, he  is President of the INQUA Commission on Terrestrial Processes (2011-2019) and Member of the Advisory Working Group for Active Fault Survey, Ministry of the Interior and Safety, South Korea (2017-2021).

Academic Year: 2020/2021

Academic Year: 2019/2020

Academic Year: 2018/2019

Academic Year: 2017/2018

Academic Year: 2016/2017

Academic Year: 2015/2016

Academic Year: 2014/2015

Academic Year: 2013/2014